Police vehicles

Tampa Police Department To Swear In 23 New Officers

This information is 1 month 2 weeks old and may no longer be accurate.

Mayor Jane Castor and Chief Lee Bercaw will welcome 23 new members of the Tampa Police Department as they are sworn in as officers this afternoon. Each of the 23 are coming with experience from other law enforcement agencies and making the transition to protect and serve the citizens of Tampa.

"Being a law enforcement officer is a noble profession. It speaks to our overall community that these individuals have chosen to continue their commitment to protecting others by becoming Tampa Police Officers,” said Chief Lee Bercaw. “They are the future of this department and will be working closely with the community we serve to make Tampa safer, together.”

All 23 officers will have their new badges pinned by family members and friends today, August 8, 2023, at 2:00 PM at the Tampa River Center at Julian B Lane Park, located at 402 W. Laurel St.