Police vehicles

Fearless Four Historical Monument Unveiling

This information is 2 years 8 months old and may no longer be accurate.

On Saturday, April 3, 2021 at 11:00 AM, Mayor Jane Castor and Chief Brian Dugan will honor the “Fearless Four” Tampa Police officers who, in 1974, filed a discrimination complaint with the United States Equal Employment Opportunity Commission against the City of Tampa Police Department. This led to a conciliatory agreement signed by Mayor Bill Poe in 1976 and resulted in the City of Tampa implementing fairer practices and policies for all employees.

Fearless Four photo

Mayor Castor and Chief Dugan will be joined by the Fearless Four: Lieutenant (Ret.) Clarence Nathan; Sergeant (Ret.) Rufus Lewis; Corporal (Ret.) Frank Gray; and former Officer James Dukes, as they unveil the “Fearless Four Historical Monument.” It will be on permanent display, on the first floor of the Tampa Police Department.

Face masks are required. To allow for social distancing, the ceremony will be live-streamed at facebook.com/TampaPD

Hear the Fearless Four share their story.