Ben T. Davis Beach

Milestone Inspections for Condo/Coop Recertification

Historic Aerial Photo of Tampa
Milestone Inspections

On May 26, 2022, Governor Ron DeSantis signed into law Senate Bill 4-D related to building safety within the State of Florida, specifically the requirement for condominiums and cooperatives to conduct milestone inspections at specified times during the life of the building. Pursuant to Florida Statues 553.899, mandatory structural inspections for condominium and cooperative buildings must be completed by December 31, 2024, to ensure that such buildings are safe for continued use.

City of Tampa Code 5-110.9 Mandatory Structural Inspections 
for Condominium and Cooperative Buildings

(Revised by Florida Statute 553.899)

Condominium and Cooperative Association buildings that are three stories or more.

A milestone inspection is required when a building reaches 30 years of age based on the date the certificate of occupancy for the building was issued, and every 10 years thereafter.

If required, and if the building reached 30 years of age before July 1, 2022 a Milestone Inspection must be performed before December 31, 2024.

Phase I Inspection must be completed within 180 days after the owner or owners of the building receive the written notice under Section 5-110.9.8.

Phase II Inspection must be submitted to the local enforcement agency within 180 days after submitting a Phase I inspection report, if Phase I reveals “substantial structural deterioration”.

This information is not intended to be a complete analysis of the statutory requirements or convey all your association's obligations under this new law. The full version of the statute may be reviewed here: Florida Statute 553.899.

If you have any additional questions, please contact Construction Services via email at or call (813) 274-3100, Option 1.

If you feel your property should be incorporated into this program and it has not received notification of this issue, please contact or call 813-307-3980.